Creating the Right Atmosphere for Writing

Anna Burgess Yang
2 min readMay 18, 2021

Getting into the writing mindset each time I sit down.

An aerial view of a cup of coffee and notebook on top of a drawing of a cityscape on a desk
Image created via Midjourney

I used to think that writing was something that would strike me at random times. And while it’s true that ideas will come out of the blue, the actual act of writing is something that has become a daily ritual.

A yoga instructor once said to me, “It’s not called yoga perfection; it’s called yoga practice.” The same is true for writing, and the ongoing practice has led me to be a better writer.

Part of this practice involves setting aside buckets of time where I can tell my brain to go into “writing mode.” Because I sit at my computer for far more than just writing, I have tried very hard to create a distinction between “writing time” and “other work.”

What I have found to be effective is to change the room just enough so that I know it is time to focus on writing. I do this through scents and music.

I have a huge selection of candles and incense. I’ll select one and light it.

Then I’ll use my Amazon Echo to play music. Favorites are Ravi Shankar for #5amwritersclub focus work, d&b or Paul Oakenfold when I’m running up against a deadline or needing to power through a draft, and spirited instrumentals like 2Cellos, The Piano Guys, or Chopin when I’m outlining or not working on something too…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/