Firmly in the #5amwritersclub Camp

I’ve discovered the joy of morning silence.

Anna Burgess Yang
2 min readJan 20, 2021
Pop art image of a typewriter at sunrise
Image created via Midjourney

My FitBit likes to give me little “tips” in the app. For example, a banner will show up that says “Did you know that drinking x amount of water per day…” etc.

Recently, the message was: “A person who goes to bed late and wakes up late is a night owl. A person who goes to bed early and wakes up early is a lark. Based on your sleep history, you are a lark.”

I would concur with that assessment. My wake-up time today was 4:05 am. And I’ve grown to love it.

Following my body’s natural rhythm

I have always been a morning person, but over the past few weeks I have become an “extreme morning” person. I fall asleep sometime before 8:30 pm and wake up naturally around 4:00–4:30 am.

I’m not even sure exactly how it happened. I think one night I was exhausted and fell asleep early, resulting in an early wake-up the next morning. Because of that, I was exhausted again that evening… it turned into a cycle.

In the past, I would have continued to lie in bed, thinking 4:00 am was too early, and try to fall back asleep.

But that one morning when I woke up really early, I was so wide awake that I sat down at my computer. Before I…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/