The Person I Can No Longer Be

I used to be such a confident parent. Now, I rarely know what to do.

Anna Burgess Yang
3 min readFeb 19, 2021
Image created via Midjourney

We are now 11 months into this pandemic’s direct impact on our daily life. I told my 11-year-old the other day that we are “living history” right now. Some day, entire textbooks and documentaries will be produced about the year 2020 and beyond. I compared it to how World Wars I and II stretched on for years, with no particular end in sight at the time.

As if “living history” is supposed to be some sort of consolation for the havoc this pandemic has wreaked on our lives.

I used to be such a confident parent. I instinctively knew what was right for my children and made decisions easily. Now, I rarely know what to do. It doesn’t make me feel better to know that other parents are in the same storm because we are so isolated. Even though it is a shared experience, we are going through this alone.

I have cried on the phone to teachers and the school principal, in front of my kids, while reading text messages from friends, to my therapist, to my husband, and alone. Every time I get an email from one of the teachers, my heart sinks because I know that it means there is some sort of problem with the work of my 5th grader or 3rd grader.

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/