Telling My Son to Follow His Dreams

I want my son to know all of the possibilities that lie ahead.

Anna Burgess Yang
3 min readJul 7, 2021
A boy looking at dreams in the sky, pop art
Image created via Midjourney

When I was young, if someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I always responded, “a writer.”

It’s a natural question that adults ask children. They fill out “getting to now you” questionnaires on the first day of school or write essays on the topic.

My older son has always had an interest in science, and as he’s gotten older, this has morphed into an interest in coding. I foresee him as a programmer or some science-related field that can rely on his love of coding.

My younger son never had a singular inclination for a profession when he was younger. If you asked him every six months, he would have a different answer each time. It was only recently that he, now nine years old, has had a consistent answer.

“I want to be a children’s author.”

Be still my writer’s heart.

He has been working hard on writing a chapter book. He carries a clipboard with loose pages of lined paper around. He won’t let me read it, but says he is up to chapter five. I told him that when he’s done if he wants my help turning it into a printed book, we can do that.

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/