Taking Deep Breaths

The first few days of summer break.

Anna Burgess Yang
3 min readJun 2, 2018
Credit: my own photo

It is the first official day of summer break, with school ending yesterday. Nothing much changes in our house in terms of routine: instead of going to school, my 8-year-old and 6-year-old go to all-day camp. But there is some relief from homework, endless communications from teachers, and the hustle involved in the school year. Plus the weather is most enjoyable.

My husband and I were both sitting at the kitchen table with the 9-month-old baby (who always wakes up before the sun). I was playing with Magnetic Poetry, which I always keep on the kitchen table. Since the table has a galvanized zinc top, the poetry sticks well.

After tossing words in and out of the bowl, I came up with:

delirious life we love

“That doesn’t sound good,” my husband commented. “Delirious sounds like a negative.”

“Not always,” I replied. “Like deliriously happy. Drunk on happiness.”

At that point, the 8-year-old emerged from his basement bedroom, bleary-eyed and disheveled hair. Summer break means nothing to him in terms of sleeping in.

“I think we should all do a breathing exercise,” he announced. “You need to take a breath in and push out the negative energy. You can even make a…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/