Sometimes Quitting Is the Best Thing for Mental Health

Life’s too short for a job that sucks the joy out of you.

Anna Burgess Yang
5 min readFeb 14, 2022
silhouette of a woman leaping for joy with mountains in the background, pop art
Image created via Midjourney

My pandemic story is not unique. Working from home, juggling remote learning with three kids during the day. It was isolating, frustrating, and exhausting. But I plowed through, like all the parents out there (and really, what choice did I have?).

My anxiety level was at an all-time high. But by late December of 2020, I realized that the source of my stress was not only pandemic-related. My job was causing unhealthy levels of stress.

So in January of 2021, I quit my job.

And then eight months later, I quit my job again.

Many things have been outside of my control during this pandemic. But I realized that one thing I could control was my career. I could say goodbye to feeling undervalued and spinning my wheels in a toxic environment.

Even though looking for a new job is time-consuming and starting a new job brings its own challenges, it is 100% worth the effort to find work that satisfies you with a company that appreciates you. Or, strike out on your own — I did a little of both.

I used to end many of my workdays ranting to my husband or spiraling with negative thoughts. I couldn’t turn my brain off and it…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/