Parental Independence Day

Alone in the house for the first time in more than a year.

Anna Burgess Yang
3 min readMar 30, 2021

When I mentioned in a team meeting that my kids will be returning to school full-time in a few weeks, a colleague joked “It’s Parental Independence Day!”

Yes. Very much so.

We have been home with our three kids for 382 days. Our only break was a few weeks ago when my mom was visiting. My husband and I were able to sneak away to an Airbnb for one night and have dinner alone. It was brief, but it was a break.

Now we are on the verge of what our life looked like Before the pandemic. Our older kids are returning to the classroom. Our three-year-old is headed to preschool. We will be back to hours of uninterrupted time in the day.

Yesterday was a prelude for what is to come. It is spring break this week. My dad is staying with us and he took all three kids to the arboretum yesterday morning.

Granted, we have had a bit of a reprieve over the past five weeks. After hitting our breaking point with isolation and remote learning, my parents agreed to come, in tandem, to help. My mom stayed for 2.5 weeks, and my dad will be with us for three. It is tying us over until the kids resume school in April.

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/