Notes on a Blue Sunday

Inspired by the color Blue.

Anna Burgess Yang
2 min readMay 20, 2018
  1. Sundays are my time to myself. If I am lucky, I have a few hours alone. Today I woke up at 5:11 a.m. I do not have to interact with anyone until 8:30.
  2. My Sunday morning ritual includes reading Brain Pickings by Maria Popova, sometimes before I even get out of bed. Today was a tribute to 200 Years of Blue.
  3. It reminded me of Bluets by Maggie Nelson, so I picked up that book and went back through her reactions to the color blue. I made a cup of coffee and slowly sipped.
  4. I took a shower, an every-other-day event. Washed hair with baking soda. Brushed teeth with activated charcoal. Shaved legs with my blue razor and coconut oil, in anticipation of hot yoga later today. I need to repaint my toes, and easier to use the same color than choose a new one: blue, Sapphire Dream.
  5. I contemplated the best remedy for a dry face. One option is a blue face mask, cool and calming. Instead, I select a balm of calendula, since my skin will have time to absorb the thickness.
  6. Checked the weather: high of 56, overcast. I chose the navy blue athletic joggers from yesterday. I only wore them to a school event, so they fell into the category of “barely worn.” An easy gray top. A necklace with a key inscribed with the word “STRENGTH.” I haven’t worn the…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/