Like Kindergarten All Over Again

Anna Burgess Yang
4 min readOct 19, 2020

We are now about six weeks into remote learning. We have experienced All Of The Mishaps, including: internet going out immediately before class starts, missing Zoom classes altogether, assignments not turned in, teachers getting dropped from the Zoom, not able to hear or be heard, not being able to log in, and saying things like “you must change out of your pajamas before class.”

For the most part, my 5th grader and 3rd grader have adapted well. There is a lot of consistency in their days. They are enjoying interacting with their friends.

Assignments have been the biggest challenge. Our district uses Google Classroom for everything. I diligently check the To Dos with my kids in the morning, specifically the Missing items. If something isn’t done, I send them to their desks to finish their work.

Then an email from the 3rd grade teacher alerted me to the fact that some work doesn’t appear in the To Do items. It might need to be completed in an external app or not have a specific Due Date assigned.

A few weeks later, another email from the 3rd grade teacher made me aware that my son had some unfinished assignments. I had neglected to check on a Friday so he was a few days behind. The teacher assured me he could still turn in the work. Another teacher emailed that my son had turned in a project, but forgot to…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/