Anna Burgess Yang
1 min readApr 7, 2023

--

I speculate that we'll continue to see a drop in banks - mergers and acquisitions haven't slowed, and (unfortunately) it's community banks that are disappearing. I'm a huge community bank advocate so I'm sad to see this; however, many community banks are also woefully behind in technology, so they can't compete. But competition is really healthy for banks so I'd hate to see us get to a point where only a few megabanks are left.

I think instead we're going to see an emergence of neobanks: fintechs that are backed by a bank (often a regional bank). Chime and Mercury are examples. Neobanks often cater to a very specific niche of customers: their customers become customers of the regional bank on the "back-end" but on the "front-end" the fintech is managing the customer relationship. I have *not* had a good experience with any neobank I've tried (and I've tried several) - so neobanks have a lot of work to do in terms of customer service. But theoretically, one regional bank might support 4 or 5 neobanks, all serving different niches. To the everyday customer, that means they'll still have the same number of options that they might have today, even thought there are fewer banks behind the scenes, if that makes sense.

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/