How Basecamp Got It Wrong

Banning the discussion of politics at work is sweeping your problems under the rug.

Anna Burgess Yang
3 min readApr 27, 2021
Image created via Midjourney

I have been a fan of the project management platform Basecamp for years. I selected the product in 2014 to manage a team of analysts and developers at a software company. Easy to learn, easy to collaborate, it had everything we needed.

I read both books written by co-founders Jason Fried and David Heinemeier Hansson. I was so enamored with the company culture and their approach to work that when Basecamp HQ in Chicago hosted a forum led by Fried, I attended. I even went up to him after and chatted briefly about remote work.

Therefore, to say I am shocked is an understatement when I read the company’s new stance on discussing political issues at work. In a nutshell the new policy states:

Every discussion remotely related to politics, advocacy, or society at large quickly spins away from pleasant…It’s a major distraction. It saps our energy, and redirects our dialog towards dark places. It’s not healthy, it hasn’t served us well. And we’re done with it on our company Basecamp account where the work happens.

My reaction? What a narrow way to view work. It further marginalizes people by telling them to “check your problems at the door.” Work becomes confined to a…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/