Gearing Up for Camp NaNoWriMo

I need to prepare, gather inspiration, and find time to write each day.

Anna Burgess Yang
3 min readJun 24, 2018
Pop art illustration of a small tent in the middle of a forest.
Image created via Midjourney

My house is in a constant state of flux. As my children get older, we constantly rearrange furniture, toys, school supplies, and sometimes entire rooms. I always want to make the best use of the space that we have. Earlier this year, for example, we rotated four entire rooms in the house. About half of the house ended up in a new space, and it involved two movers, a visit from my mom, and weeks to put back together.

Part of this constant shifting is how my writing desk is now out in the three-season sunroom. It is tiny, with a writing area that perfectly fits my Surface, cup of coffee, and a few books and notebooks. I used to have a corner of the master bedroom, but while somewhat secluded from the rest of the house, it made the room feel too cramped.

It actually isn’t a bad setup, in the sunroom. The floor-to-ceiling glass doors and windows look out into my serene backyard with its pond and waterfall. The sound of the running water is so relaxing and even though it is a warm day, I grew up in a house without air conditioning so the sunroom at 7:00 am is perfect for me.

However, my desk also faces into the kitchen and with more floor-to-ceiling glass, I can see all of its contents: box of cereal on…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/