For the Love of a Cat

My cat is in my life because of loss.

Anna Burgess Yang
6 min readDec 28, 2019

My kids play outside almost every day. Barring any rain or snow, they will go to the backyard and run around after arriving home from school. My 10-year-old doesn’t even let rain stop him — unless it is a downpour, he’s fine with a light drizzle and I have to debate telling him “no” versus mud tracked inside on his shoes.

Our backyard has a very large pond, the length of several bathtubs and just as deep. Now that they are older, the pond doesn’t make me as nervous because falling in simply means “stand back up and shake yourself off” but when they were younger it was a bigger concern. We would always make sure that an adult was outside to watch them just in case they would fall into the pond.

The glass sliding door to the backyard is large and old. My 10-year-old has to wrench it open with all of his strength. I jokingly always said that I didn’t mind, because when they were little I knew it was impossible for the kids to open the door on their own, thereby preventing them from wandering into the backyard without our knowledge.

But now that they play unsupervised, they have gotten into the habit of leaving the back door open. They have to pass through a sunroom to get outside, so they will close the inner door between the sunroom and the kitchen, but not bother to…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/