AI Won’t Replace Me as a Writer. Here’s Why.

ChatGPT is all the buzz. I’m not worried.

Anna Burgess Yang
7 min readDec 11, 2022
a friendly colorful robot sitting at a desk holding a pen and writing on a piece of paper, pop art
Image created via Midjourney

I can’t count the number of times I’ve read about ChatGPT this week, the new conversational tool from OpenAI. The references have spanned from an article in The Atlantic entitled The End of High-School English to questions from worried freelancers, wondering how they’ll offer counterpoints to clients who think that ChatGPT is a viable alternative to human writers.

I even got the question from a concerned aunt and my husband: Do AI writing tools put writers out of a job?

I’m a freelance fintech writer and journalist. I spent 15 years as a product manager at a banking software company before pivoting to content. I also write on Medium about productivity and automation, and on Substack about remote work.

I’ve been playing around with different AI writing tools for the past month, including Jasper, Copy AI, Writer, Frase, Lex, and now ChatGPT.

And I can say unequivocally: I’m not worried. The work I produce cannot be replicated by a machine.

But the landscape of writing will change, dramatically and permanently.

The difference between quality input and quality output

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/