A New Project Emerges Amidst Being Confined at Home

Anna Burgess Yang
4 min readApr 19, 2020
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

In the “pre-pandemic” world, I took time every week to focus on my writing projects. Sunday mornings were my sacred time, during which my husband would wrangle our three children and I would retreat to my office for several hours of (mostly) uninterrupted writing time.

The narrative I was constructing was my own, an expanded memoir version of what I write in my blog. This has been my heart’s work for about two years. I had finally reached a point in early March where I thought that I could formulate a more cohesive first draft. Once done, I would send it to a freelance editor I had worked with before.

Then, on Friday, March 13th, Shelter in Place orders went into effect in Illinois. My three children became my new “co-workers” during the day, and we have had to juggle working alongside e-learning assignments in the confinement of our home. It is now Day 37 of what I have termed “No Breaks.”

I have managed to keep my Sunday mornings reserved for myself, with one significant change: I have set aside the memoir that I have been working on for two years. The subject matter is far too heavy for me right now. I cannot handle recalling and piecing together such an labor of love. Navigating these days in our home require so much emotional energy by themselves.

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/