3 Impactful Things to Do When Starting a New Job

Hint: Figure out how to align work with the *way* you work.

Anna Burgess Yang
5 min readDec 13, 2021

We’re still in the middle of The Great Resignation, with no signs of slowing down. The latest report from the U.S. Department of Labor Statistics showed yet another record number of people quitting their jobs.

With all of this movement, it means that many people are in various stages of “settling in” to new roles (myself include). I am also part of The Great Resignation having started not one, but two new jobs in 2021. This was after spending 15 years at my previous job. So not only was I beginning new chapters in my work life, but I hadn’t been in that situation for a loooonng time.

However, coming from a very well-established career meant that I have a very clear understanding of how I work best. My goal immediately upon starting new jobs was to figure out how to make the work “fit” around how I’m most productive — while still meeting any requirements like meetings and deadlines.

Here are the three things I immediately tried to discern to figure out how I, personally, could be successful in my role.

1. What parts of the job require deep work?

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/